Saturday, January 18, 2014

Pharrell, U2, Karen O Score Oscar Nominations

U2, Pharrell Williams and the bassist of Arcade Fire are all contending for trophies at the 86th annual Academy Awards. 
U2 and Danger Mouse's Golden Globe-winning song from "Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom," "Ordinary Love," received an Academy Award nod when the full nominations list was announced on Thursday morning (Jan. 16), as did Karen O's "The Moon Song," from "Her," and Williams' "Happy," from "Despicable Me 2." Idina Menzel's showpiece in the animated "Frozen," "Let It Go," earned a nomination for Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez.  U2 was previously nominated for Best Original Song in 2002, when the group's "Gangs of New York" anthem "The Hands That Built America" lost out to Eminem's "Lose Yourself," from "8 Mile." For Yeah Yeah Yeahs leader Karen O and "Get Lucky" maestro Williams, this year's nominations represent their first times competing in the Best Original Song category. At last year's Academy Awards ceremony, Adele and Paul Epworth won the Best Original Song trophy for the "Skyfall" title theme.
Best Original Song
"Alone Yet Not Alone," Alone Yet Not Alone; music by Bruce Broughton, lyrics by Dennis Spiegel
"Happy," Despicable Me 2; music and lyrics by Pharrell Williams
"Let It Go," Frozen; music and lyrics by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez
"The Moon Song," Her; music by Karen O., lyrics by Karen O. and Spike Jonze
"Ordinary Love," Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom; music by Paul Hewson, Dan Evans, Adam Clayton, and Larry Mullen, a.k.a. U2; lyrics by Paul Hewson, a.k.a. Bono
Best Original Score

John Williams, The Book Thief

Steven Price, Gravity

William Butler and Owen Pallett, Her

Alexandre Desplat, Philomena

Thomas Newman, Saving Mr. Banks

No comments: