The 23rd Annual NAACP Theatre Awards [VIDEO]

Earlier this week Studio Q covered the 23rd Annual NAACP Theatre Awards, hosted by Actress LisaRaye McCoy and Comedians Tommy Miles (Nephew Tommy) & Kym Whitley. The prestigious star-studded gala was produced for the purpose of honoring thespians among the best in the field of entertainment. 
Honorees included: Loretta Devine, Vanessa Williams, Peter Wise, Dr. Maxine M. Anderson and Dr. Michael Obeng.  We had lots of red carpet fun with the stars and spoke to them about the importance of theatre in the black community. Check out our coverage of the event below.  

Margaret Avery of BET's Being Mary Jane, The Color Purple
It's a reunion of The Game - Pooch Hall and Gabrielle Dennis
Robert C. Riley, VH1's Hit The Floor

Glynn Turman, Cooley High, Different World, The Wire
Don B Welch and Dawnn Lewis
Hill Harper and Art Evans

Robert Ri'chard, Meet The Browns, One on One
Lenny Williams
J. Anthony Brown,Tom Joyner Morning Show
Michael Jai White, Tyler Perry's For better or Worse
Kym Whitley, Raising Whitley
Ella Joyce, Temptation, Belle's
Kevin Liles, President of Def Jam Music
Thomas Miles "Nephew Tommy" - Steve Harvey Morning Show
Peter Wise, Spirit Award Honoree
Robert Townsend, Director

LisaRaye, Single Ladies
LisaRaye with her daughter Kai Morae

Loretta Devine, Lifetime Achievement Honoree
Vanessa L. Williams, Trailblazer Award Honoree